Hey, cool, my article got picked up by Resolution-Magazine!

November 3, 2010 § Leave a comment

Check it out here.

Already they’ve been some interesting comments.

Some suggest Enslaved was just not as good as Borderlands, which I’m not really qualified to talk about. From what I’ve played from the demo, I wouldn’t say it comes across as “revolutionary” either, but neither was Borderlands imo. Still, it’s possible the critics got it wrong.

One commenter stated it was because there was too much competition for Enslaved to prevail, mentioning Fable III and Fallout: New Vegas. Quite plausibly a factor, I think.

Another thing that surprised was how much vitriol there was targeted at Ninja Theory, specifically at the way they publicly handled the poor sales they received for their previous game, Heavenly Sword. Was this an influencing purchasing factor? Well, no, I don’t so, because Enslaved sold almost equally as badly on the 360, whose users may not have played Heavenly Sword or felt aggrieved by Ninja Theory’s comments. However, one astute commenter made the point that Ninja Theory’s reputation with its community may have soured any chance of a grass-roots campaign to spread buzz before the game launched, and when launching a new and unusual IP, that certainly could have been a major factor.

Oh, and I almost forgot: I predicted in the article that Enslaved may become a cult classic in the same bracket Psychnauts is now regarded. On that point, I fully admit, I overreached. Whoops. 😛

Anyway, it’s good to see something I wrote get hits and responses. I obviously hit a nerve.

Addendum: Last thing. Someone said that the demo for Enslaved was weak. I actually quite enjoyed the demo, and that’s what got me interested in the game. Makes me wonder, though, whether a bad demo can have a negative impact on sales – or, to be more precise, can a poorly designed demo, not representative of the full game experience, dissuade people from buying? My impulse says that’s a yes.

Addendum to the addendum: although, I’ve also played demos of games, of which previously I had zero interest in, and then decided to buy them at some point based off my experience. So, in that way, a demo may solidify a purchasing decision within the consumer’s mind, but it can easily work both ways.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hey, cool, my article got picked up by Resolution-Magazine! at Mark Raymond's Blog!: The Official Blog of the Forthcoming Blog.

meta

