"I’ve made a huge mistake"

June 7, 2010 § Leave a comment

I just realised that I never actually got around to giving my impressions on the iPad, despite making several fervent statements elsewhere. To sum up my original position, I thought it would underperform, and I happened to mention this on a friend’s status update on Facebook:

Turns out I didn't need to wait more than two months, let alone two years. (Also, REDACTED, BITCHES!)

So, essentially my reasoning was: they’re entering into an unproven market; it’s too big; it doesn’t do all the things a laptop/netbook can do; it looks delicate; and it will become old tech within a short period of time. Ergo, it’s likely to fail.

Unfortunately, I underestimated one thing: the Apple factor – by which I mean the strength of the brand and Jobs’s (or his team of engineer’s) uncanny talent for designing accessible, shiny-looking user interfaces.

And why am I mentioning this all now?

http://www.guardian.co.uk/business/2010/may/31/ipad-apple-tablet-sales

Taken from The Guardian.co.uk (obviously)

Oops.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading "I’ve made a huge mistake" at Mark Raymond's Blog!: The Official Blog of the Forthcoming Blog.

meta

