Site Update – 13/12/09

December 13, 2009 § Leave a comment

I’ve been sort of busy this weekend with social engagements, so I haven’t been gaming too much. I have been playing F.E.A.R. 2: Project Origin, which is fairly good, if not anything spectacular. The issue I have with that game is with the jump-scares. I hate jump-scares, be it in any form of media; I think it’s lazy and cheap. Similarly, I also hate flash frames for exactly the same reason.

But ignoring my general distaste for those old horror movie cliches, more than anything else it slows down the gameplay. Honestly, the scares in the game are overly contrived, extremely predictable and, therefore, not particularly scary. And, really, I just want to get on to the bits where I can shoot dudes in slow-mo, causing them to fly off in a delectable shower of blood and gore.

I also played some Modern Warfare 2 Spec Ops with a buddy of mine. Some of those levels are really well designed and completely awesome in co-op play. Seriously, the next person who tells me that Modern Warfare 2 is not deserving of, at the very least, being in the top ten games of year, needs a glove-slap to the face. Okay, it’s definately not perfect, but I cannot think of any other game in ’09 that excels so much, and in so many areas.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Site Update – 13/12/09 at Mark Raymond's Blog!: The Official Blog of the Forthcoming Blog.

meta

