Site Update – 01/11/09

November 1, 2009 § Leave a comment

It’s been a busy weekend. Friday afternoon, after catching around 2–3 hours sleep following a night shift, I carried my weary frame along to the Eurogamer Expo.

It wasn’t too bad. I got to play a few games myself but mostly ended up waiting and watching others at the booths. I also took the opportunity to listen to Mark Morris and Chris Delay, they of indie developer Introversion, talk about the problems they encountered in getting Darwinia+ onto XBLA. It was great to hear them talk, both funny and interesting, and I wish them all the best when it finally releases.

One game I’m retiscent to talk about is Heavy Rain. I watched people play the demo on the floor of the Expo, but, unfortunately, I didn’t get the chance to play it myself. It’s my only real regret, to be honest, that I missed out on that. I have been criticising the game, perhaps unfairly. I’m trying to keep an open mind about the game, and to that end I have ignored most of the press and hype that’s being created around it. What I will say is this: it does have the appearance of a point-and-click adventure game married to some QTE action sequences, and I think that the narrative – somewhat of an unknown quantity at this moment – will have to be something quite special in order to compensate. Personally, I think the game looks to represent a retrograde step in terms of storytelling – but that’s just my opinion, and there’s every chance I could be wrong in that.

I’ve pretty much finished with Beautiful Katamari now, having finished the main game and completed as many achievements I can be bothered to get. I would have considered buying it, but then I saw the accusations surrounding the DLC – i.e., that Bandai had intentionally locked additional content on the disc and the “DLC” consisted of nothing more than an unlock key. Great job, guys, because you just lost yourselves a sale. A shame, really, since I really dig the tone and play-style of the game. Too bad Bandai decided to puke all over it with their corporate greed. (Sigh.)

Anyway, with that out the way, I’ve moved onto Batman: Arkum Asylum. Now that’s a high quality product! It really is such a well crafted, well designed game – and it knows its limits, which is important. To be quite honest, I’m too tired right now to go into massive detail, but I’d have no hesitation recommending it. It’s probably one of the best, if not the best, comic book superhero game I’ve played.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Site Update – 01/11/09 at Mark Raymond's Blog!: The Official Blog of the Forthcoming Blog.

meta

